News group awards freedom prize to 16 imprisoned journalists in Diyarbakır

The Association of Turkish Journalists (TGC) has awarded this year’s Press Freedom Prize to 16 journalists who were recently arrested in the southeastern province of Diyarbakır for belonging to a terrorist organization, Turkish Minute reported.

Turkish authorities arrested 16 journalists, including Serdar Altan, co-president of the Dicle Fırat (DFG) Journalists Association, Aziz Oruç, editor-in-chief of the Mezopotamya (MA) news agency and Safiye Alagaş, director of information from JinNews on June 16 after being detained in Diyarbakır on June 8, in a move that sparked outrage among opposition politicians, members of the press and rights activists.

The TGC said it awards the prize to arrested Kurdish journalists and more broadly to all journalists in Turkey who are prevented from doing their job, according to Evrensel.

Turkey, which is known as one of the best jailers of journalists in the world, was ranked 149e among 180 countries in the Reporters Without Borders (RSF) 2022 World Press Freedom Index.

Dozens of critical journalists have been imprisoned in Turkey, while many media outlets were shut down following a coup attempt in the country in July 2016.

Take a second to support the Stockholm Center for Freedom on Patreon!

Comments are closed.